The Direct Vision Standard Explained

What is the Direct vision standard?

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS), is legislation first introduced by TfL back in 2020, that measures how much HGV drivers can see directly from their cab. The DVS applies to all HGVs more than 12 tonnes GVW entering or operating in London. Operating 24 hours, 365 days a year, the standard requires truck operators to hold a valid safety permit for their truck if they want to enter or operate within the enforcement zone.


For the last four years the minimum star rating to apply for a safety permit has been one star (or have a safe system fitted), but this October this increases to three-stars.

How does the star rating work?

The Direct Vision standard star rating reflects the visibility that a driver has from the cab in relation to other road users. Ranging from 0 - 5 stars, the rating is given on the vehicle's visibility when it leaves the production line and does not take into account retrofitted safety equipment.


The current minimum star rating is 1-star but with the legislation update on 28th October, 2024, this will increase to 3-stars.


Your vehicle's star rating will determine the next steps required to get your safety permit.

Where is the DVS Zone?

The Direct Vision Zone operates within Greater London, predominantly inside of the M25. This map highlights the area where DVS is currently enforced. If you enter the direct vision zone without a valid safety permit, you will receive a penalty of up to £550, even if your truck is rated 3-5 stars.

What do I need to operate in the DVS Zone?

All vehicles over 12 tonnes, regardless of their star rating, will need an hgv safety permit to operate in Greater London. From October 28th, 2024, your truck will need to be rated three-stars or above before applying. Any vehicles below this standard will need to fit a Progressive Safe System.

What is a Progressive Safe System?

A Progressive Safe System is a series of seven vehicle safety measures fitted to a vehicle. Aimed to provide drivers with increased indirect vision and fully eliminate blindspots on the nearside of the vehicle, the progressive safe system is an enhanced version of the safe system.


The following devices are required:

  1. Class V and VI mirrors fitted to the front and nearside of the vehicle (or a camera monitoring system that replaces the mirrors)
  2. Side under-run protection fitted to both sides of the vehicle, except where this is demonstrably impractical. (See TfL website for exemptions).
  3. External pictorial stickers and markings shall be displayed on vehicles to warn vulnerable road users of the hazards. This should be minimum A3 size.
  4. A blind spot information system with active sensors that alerts the driver to the presence of a vulnerable road user fitted to the nearside of the vehicle
  5. A moving off information system, fitted to the front of the vehicle to warn the driver of the presence of a vulnerable road user.
  6. Audible vehicle manaeuvring warning for vulnerable road users to alert them when a vehicle is turning left
  7. A fully operational camera monitoring system fitted to the nearside of the vehicle, completely eliminating blind spots at the nearside.

New Technology Explained

Designed to eliminate blind spots and detect vulnerable road users (vru's), the sensor technology fitted within a moving off information system continuously monitors the area in front of the vehicle.


It includes a two-stage warning system based on the proximity of the vulnerable road user.  With an in-cab visual including a countdown function to show the distance from the vehicle and an audible warning system that alerts the driver if a collision is imminent, the mois gives the driver increased awareness of the presence of VRUs.

The latest blind spot information system (BSIS) standard from the TfL is designed to eliminate blind spots on the nearside and ultimately prevent left turn collisions. 


Our BSIS includes a single radar sensor system placed on the nearside of the cab, covering a total of 20m distance. It provides a multi-stage, in-cab visual and audible warning system, with the ability to ignore false alerts.

The Application Process

There are three simple steps in applying for your safety permit. Best of all, when you choose TruckEast to fit your progressive safe system, we'll take care of the application for you - leaving you to get on with the day job.

Find out your star rating.

Contact your manufacturer for the star rating of your truck. You will need your vin (chassis) number to hand. 


If your truck is rated 3-stars or above, skip to step 3.


If your vehicle is rated 2 star or below you will need to fit a progressive safe system before applying.


All TruckEast branches can offer fitment of this to all makes.

Permit Application.

Visit to apply for you permit.


Complete all required fields, if your vehicle is less than 3 stars you will need to submit evidence that the progressive safe system has been installed. This will be reviewed before the permit is issued.

Next Steps...

Whether you want to discuss fitting a progressive safe system to your vehicle, find out about future choices that achieve higher star ratings or simply get some advise on DVS get in touch with your local TruckEast today.

Install a Progressive Safe System

Upgrade an existing Safe System

Upgrade a vehicle with GSR fitted

Discuss future  options with our sales team

Frequently Asked Questions - Direct Vision Standard

If your vehicle is over 12tonnes, rated zero, one or two star from your manufacturer and operates in greater London, then you will need to fit a progressive safe system before applying for your safety permit..

Yes, you can upgrade an existing safe system to a progressive safe system. It is unlikely your existing side sensors from the original safe system will meet the updated requirements so you will need to upgrade to a blind spot information system and add a moving off information system. 

If you apply for your safety permit today, it will only by valid until 27th October, 2024. You will need to apply again once the new applications open in June. 
As part of process, if you choose TruckEast to install your Progressive Safe System we will take care of the application process for you, both now and when the new applications open.

No, the blind spot information system that TruckEast fit as part of the Progressive Safety System is the same system, regardless of whether you fit to a tractor unit or rigid.

New trucks that have been specified to meet the new European General Safety Regulations, will not automatically meet the TfL direct vision standard. You will still need to fit an audible turning alarm and camera monitoring in order to apply for your safety permit.

You can find out your trucks star rating by contacting the manufacturer directly. You will need your vin (chassis) number to hand. If you have a Scania, please contact 

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) zone operates around greater london and predominantly within the M25 border. All areas marked below and shaded in blue or yellow are within the DVS zone and therefore you will need a valid safety permit to operate.



The equipment fitted with a progressive safety system from a TruckEast branch comes with a 24-month fitted parts warranty.

The Direct Vision Standard changes take effect on 28th October 2024, therefore if your vehicle has less than a 3-star rating, you will need to fit a progressive safe system and obtain your permit by this date to operate in London.


Applications for the updated standard open on 24th June, 2024

Scania Assistance

We're here to help – 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.


0800 80 06 60